This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Clarion Hotel® Draken Gothenburg ,  Sweden

See all hotels in Gothenburg, Sweden

Clarion Hotel® Draken

Gothenburg,  Sweden

Clarion Hotel® Draken has awoken as a fabulous new addition to the city’s cultural scene. With a cinema, conference rooms, restaurants and stunning views, this is an amazing venue for unique meetings, fabulous entertainment and unforgettable experiences!

Clarion Hotel® Draken 4 5
TripAdvisor traveller rating  

TripAdvisor traveller rating

4
149 reviews
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Value
4.5
Service
4.5
Location
4.5
Rooms
2

Modern and nice interior but far from a good standard

Thursday, June 13, 2024, Stockholm, Sweden, Sebastian R

Dirty windows, poor cleaning during stay, not very child friendly staff, bad wifi coverage and poor air condition

Dirty windows, poor cleaning during stay, not very child friendly staff, bad wifi coverage and poor air condition
Read more
5

Slightly better than last visit and that's not bad.

Tuesday, June 11, 2024, Stockholm, Sweden, Phayao13

Still impressed with the generous living room feel in the lobby.The reception is impeccable.Sleeps well in comfortable beds and rooms offer most of what feels necessary for an overnight stay.But what…

Still impressed with the generous living room feel in the lobby.The reception is impeccable.Sleeps well in comfortable beds and rooms offer most of what feels necessary for an overnight stay.But what impressed the most is a highly efficient and very likeable breakfast team.Several shining stars but one Veronika was contagious with her enthusiasm despite heavy pressure.Like most things and that there is a little personal touch to the range.However, looking forward to better parking options in the future, but there is probably a question for the car-averse city of Gothenburg
Read more
3

Great location. Chic decor. No service. Missing basics, like telephones, safe, etc.

Tuesday, June 11, 2024, Denver, Colorado, 80237travel

The Clarion Hotel Draken is probably the nicest hotel in a city without any luxury 5-star hotels. For Americans, the hotel is also a huge difference from Clarion hotels back in North America. I thin…

The Clarion Hotel Draken is probably the nicest hotel in a city without any luxury 5-star hotels. For Americans, the hotel is also a huge difference from Clarion hotels back in North America. I think this hotel is part of Nordic Choice or Strawberry, which licenses the Choice brands in the Nordic countries. That relationship is very confusing. Is it Choice, Nordic Choice, Clarion, or Hotel Draken? The branding situation is odd. Strawberry should drop the Choice name. Anyways, it is safe to say the Clarion Hotel Draken is a significantly nicer than ANY Clarion hotel back home in the USA. The hotel is newish (maybe 1-year-old?) and has a contemporary, international feeling. The lobby itself is a little dark but the decor is chic. The decor could be in any major city. Think Singapore, New York, etc. Staff were polite. Like just about anywhere in Sweden, English is widely spoken. Pretty much anyone under age 40 or 50 in Sweden is fluent in English or at least semi-fluent in English. However, staff competency varied. It took 3 staff members to re-code a room key when the key stopped working. The staff seemed very inexperienced and there did not seem to be anyone working over the age of 30 or 35 with extensive hotel experience. My room was comfortable and relatively large by European standards, but small for a newly built hotel in a tower. Views of Gothenburg from rooms on the upper floors are incredible. However, there were no drawers and virtually no place to put luggage as the refrigerator, kettle, iron, and ironing board occupied the closet space. This is a major issue for anyone staying more than 1 or 2 nights. The bed was either a king or a very large queen mattress and very comfortable. The linen was a cheaper polyester-cotton blended linen. Not the worst, but not the best. The hotel puts a decorative pillow and decorative runner on the bed, which I hate. Those are never washed and always end up on the floor. Why use them? They are NOT sanitary. Daily housekeeping is provided. No turndown service is offered. Breakfast is a self-serve buffet with one of the most extensive selections that I have ever seen anywhere, including Asia and the Middle East. The breakfast is incredible and if you go later in the morning it will more than hold you over until dinner. At night, the lobby bar has a very limited food menu that is mostly sandwiches. There is a restaurant on the rooftop that is white tablecloth and is very high-end. However, it's impossible as a hotel guest to get a table at the hotel restaurant because they fully book the restaurant and don't leave any tables for guests. It seems like all the money was spent erecting the building and on the decor of the lobby because there are so many issues related to the design and overall offerings of the hotel. The following 3 issues were the most significant issues that I experienced and all relate to cost-cutting moves by the owner/developer of the hotel: 1) No safe to store valuables. I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't have safes in each room. 2) No deadbolt or chain to double-lock your door. Like the missing safe, I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't have a deadbolt or a chain. This is basic security. 3) No telephones. This is quite possibly the stupidest mistake the hotel made. Why would you remove telephones? How are guests supposed to contact the front desk or even order room service without a telephone? What if there is an emergency? This is absurd. It also means you can't get a wake-up call. Who was the idiot who thought removing telephones was a good idea? Every time you want to contact the hotel for a service or a question, you have to take the elevator down to the front desk and again back up to your room. Additionally, I experienced these issues, many of which also relate to cost-cutting: 1) No pre-arrival email and no welcome letter at check-in. At a 4-star hotel you expect this. 2) No doorman or bellman to assist with luggage. I also did not see any luggage carts in the lobby. 3) There is no good drop-off point for guests arriving by car. The main entrance is a pedestrian-only plaza. I was later told there was a back entrance that cars can reach, but the taxi drivers do not seem to know this. How do you not have a dedicated, accessible entrance? 4) No robe and slippers in the guest room. You expect a robe and slippers. 5) No clock or speakers in the room. 6) No newspapers in the lobby or at the restaurant. 7) No concierge to assist with tours, local information, etc. 8) No bar of soap in the bathroom. Liquid hand wash in a dispenser is not the same as soap. No dental kit or other amenities, which you would expect to find in the bathroom. Maybe these are available upon request? 9) Lighting is bad. Despite being a new hotel, the in-room lighting is controlled by individual switches and controls. None of the switches and controls are labeled. So you literally have to go around and push buttons to find out what each switch and control operates. Who was the idiot that came up with this design? 10) No coffeemaker in the room. Only a kettle with instant coffee. You expect a real coffeemaker. 11) Only 3 hangers were provided in the closet. Most hotels provide 6 hangers. 3 for pants/trousers and 3 for other garments. 12) No tissue/kleenex provided. I’ve never stayed in a hotel that doesn’t provide this. All things considered, the Clarion Hotel Draken is a better than average hotel. They have most of the important things correct. By Clarion standards, it's 5 stars. But the actual positioning of the hotel is more like 4 stars. However, there are quite a few little issues that need to be fixed for hotel to be genuinely 4 stars. If you take away the chic design, a Holiday Inn is providing a higher standard than the Clarion Hotel Draken. I know hotels in Sweden are expensive. But US$250 per night is a little expensive for the provided standard, especially things like no soap, no doorman or bellman, no coffeemaker, and no in-room telephone. You expect those things at US$250 per night.
Read more
4

Nice hotel but…

Monday, May 06, 2024, , Pablojuan456

Nice modern hotel and great location. Rooms nice but you can’t open windows and the ventilation in our room was terrible so it was a bit suffocating. Breakfast was great with a good selection but if y…

Nice modern hotel and great location. Rooms nice but you can’t open windows and the ventilation in our room was terrible so it was a bit suffocating. Breakfast was great with a good selection but if you book the 10:30 slot they are already putting everything away when you get there. Then the lights go on at 11.00 kicking you out even though you just got there. Spa and pool are subject to really high extra costs. This was not clear to us when we booked. I just wanted to go for a quick swim but was not prepared to pay 45€ per person to do so. That was pretty disappointing.

Owner Response

Monday, May 06, 2024

Dear guest, Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! Your feedback means a lot to us. Welcome back to us on your next visit to Gothenburg! Have a great day! Kind regards Lisa Clarion Hotel Draken

Read more
4

Beds from heaven

Monday, May 06, 2024, Stockholm, Sweden, fridabravo

New and fresh hotel with beautiful rooms and amazing views if you get a room a few floors up. Truly nothing to complain about. Nice bar at the reception and friendly staff. The beds are super comforta…

New and fresh hotel with beautiful rooms and amazing views if you get a room a few floors up. Truly nothing to complain about. Nice bar at the reception and friendly staff. The beds are super comfortable with big pillows and you sleep very well.

Owner Response

Monday, May 06, 2024

Dear Frida, Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! Your feedback means a lot to us and we are so happy to read that you had a great stay here. Welcome back to us on your next visit to Gothenburg! Have a great day! Kind regards Lisa Clarion Hotel Draken

Read more

Get up to 25% discount!

No, thank you!

Please try again

Get up to 25% discount!
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve an email with great offers

3.2.11.002 21
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Booking code

The booking code is added.

Please note

Your session will be ended

Please note that changing language will end this session. You will be logged out and all ongoing tasks will be lost.