This page is designed for newer browsers. For the best experience, please upgrade to a later version.

Clarion Hotel® Ernst Kristiansand ,  Norway

See all hotels in Kristiansand, Norway
  • Trendy interior design at Ernst Hotel in Kristiansand
  • Elegant and classy dining room at Ernst Hotel in Kristiansand
  • Modern and relaxing spa at Ernst Hotel in Kristiansand
  • Large and well-equipped standard hotel room at Ernst Hotel in Kristiansand
  • Chic and spacious suite at Ernst Hotel in Kristiansand

Clarion Hotel® Ernst

Kristiansand,  Norway

The Clarion Hotel Ernst is a modern hotel with an interesting history, right in the centre of Kristiansand. This was once the city's only hotel and the interiors have been beautifully decorated with contemporary art.

Clarion Hotel® Ernst 4 5
TripAdvisor traveller rating  
Sustainability Rating
7.5
out of 10
Sustainability Rating

This is our own sustainability rating that reflects how each hotel performs within several different sustainability areas. The rating is an average of the last 7 days.

7.5
out of 10
Rating for Clarion Hotel® Ernst

The rating is based on how the hotel lives up to its goals over time in reducing its environmental impact with respect to energy, water, refuse, food waste, chemicals, textile laundry and carbon emissions.

The rating is based on how the hotel lives up to its goals over time in reducing its environmental impact with respect to energy, water, refuse, food waste, chemicals, textile laundry and carbon emissions.

Selected goals within Strawberry
Climate neutral by 2030

Our goal is to be climate neutral within our own operations by 2030, while also halving emissions in our supply chains.

Less food waste by 2030

We are working hard and proactively to reduce food waste by 50% in our operations by 2030.

TripAdvisor traveller rating

4
935 reviews
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Sleep Quality
4
Value
4.5
Service
4.5
Location
4
Rooms
5

Warm and welcoming staff

Tuesday, August 08, 2023, , hakonregnskap

Best stay in Kristiansand, at this Hotel you are not only treated as a guest your are treated as you are on a home visit due to the warm and welcoming staff. The Hotel has a stunning and spaceious lob…

Best stay in Kristiansand, at this Hotel you are not only treated as a guest your are treated as you are on a home visit due to the warm and welcoming staff. The Hotel has a stunning and spaceious lobby and there are nice and elegant interior in the rooms. The breakfast have all you can desire.

Owner Response

Wednesday, September 06, 2023

Thank you, hakonregnskap! I am glad to see that you were happy with your stay! Welcome back :)

Read more
5

One of the norways best clarion hotels

Monday, August 07, 2023, Sola Municipality, Norway, anniebonham

Absolutely lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and great service. Location in center of town and close to the harbor if you are going to travel :) we love staying at hotel Ernst and wil…

Absolutely lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and great service. Location in center of town and close to the harbor if you are going to travel :) we love staying at hotel Ernst and will definitely be staying many more times.

Owner Response

Wednesday, September 06, 2023

Thank you, anniebonham! Hope to see you again in the future :)

Read more
3

Annual Holiday

Thursday, August 03, 2023, London, Durnovarian

Good location as very central to town. This hotel used to be the best in Kristiansand but the outdated and increasingly shabby decor means that it no longer merits that title. Standards of cleanliness…

Good location as very central to town. This hotel used to be the best in Kristiansand but the outdated and increasingly shabby decor means that it no longer merits that title. Standards of cleanliness in the rooms is generally good and the breakfasts are of good variety and quality.

Owner Response

Sunday, August 06, 2023

Hello Durnovarian! Thank you for your feedback! We know that the decor is not for everyone, but a lot of people also like it :) W appriciate your opinion. Welcome back anytime!

Read more
4

Very clean, central, serviceminded hotel with smallish but charming rooms

Friday, June 23, 2023, Berlin, Germany, trosborgandersen

Location: Very central, in walking distance to both the waterfront, the outskirts and main city, as well as almost directly opposite the bus station and the ferries. So the location is very good if y…

Location: Very central, in walking distance to both the waterfront, the outskirts and main city, as well as almost directly opposite the bus station and the ferries. So the location is very good if you don't want a lot of travel time (I did not need public transport or a taxi at any point). On the flipside, it is of course near a bigger road. Hotel: The hotel was extremely clean and some of it is extremely beautiful, particularly the main stairs. It also has a gym and sauna that you don't have to pay extra for. I did use the gym a little, but as I don't often go to the gym, I will refrain from reviewing it since I hardly have anything to compare it with, but it was clean and pleasant. I didn't have much need for the staff's help but my impression was that they were very helpful, friendly and efficient. They have a bar that I didn't go to but the breakfast was really good! It did have variety but perhaps less so than other hotels of this standard, BUT the quality of the food was better than most hotels. Room: I stayed in a smaller room for solo travellers. Based on the reviews I had read beforehand, I was expecting it to be small, dark and without a window. It was definitely small for a 4-star hotel but it was not uncomfortably small and was very well decorated. There was a window down to the reception hall, which of course means there is no beautiful view of the harbour or city, but it worked much better than I had expected and was actually quite charming. The hotel is near a big road and my room near the bar, so there was some noise but once I closed the window, it faded into just being white noise, so it is definitely soundproofed, but something to keep in mind if that is a big bother for you. All in all, I would recommend and stay there again but keep in mind that some of the rooms are smaller than average and that is isn't located in the middle of a quiet forest.

Owner Response

Tuesday, July 25, 2023

thank you for the feedback, Trosborgandersen! I am hapy to see that you enjoyed your stay! Welcome back in the future!

Read more
2

The hotel gave my room to someone else

Tuesday, March 28, 2023, , Thainor T

The hotel called me on the evening on my stay shortly before getting on my delayed flight asking if I was coming, I told them yes and that my flight was delayed a bit, and they said everything was fin…

The hotel called me on the evening on my stay shortly before getting on my delayed flight asking if I was coming, I told them yes and that my flight was delayed a bit, and they said everything was fine. Then not long after, as my flight was about to take off, they call me and tell me I'll have to find another hotel because all their rooms have been fully booked?! I booked in advance though?? Moving to a different hotel would be very inconvenient for my job the next morning, so I showed up anyways and insisted on getting my room, where they oh so graciously offered to DOWNGRADE ME to a single room... Not only trying to unilaterally cancel my room on the date of my stay, but "offering" to downgrade me or find a different hotel... Beyond unprofessional, I've never experienced any hotel with this level of incompetence. When I had to accept their downgrade option, did they offer any form of compensation? No, I had to ask for the manager before they offered any form of compensation for the inconvenience and distress their unprofessional hotel management had caused me. It was very unprofessional to give my room to someone else.

Owner Response

Monday, April 03, 2023

Hello Thainort! I am so sorry to hear about this and would like to compensate you for it. Could you please send me an email so I can find your booking in our system and make a compensation for you? annika.flak@choice.no From what you are saying, I can see that we were full booked this day, but this is not how we usually fix these things. Please conatct me direct and I will find a solution here. Have a good week!

Read more

Get up to 25% discount!

No, thank you!

Please try again

Get up to 25% discount!
Thank you for signin up!

You will soon recieve an email with great offers

3.2.8.003 28
Booking code

Do you have a booking code? Please enter it here to see availability. If you want to book using a corporate account, bonus points or see member rates: Sign in

Save

Booking code can not be empty

Select rooms

room Remove room

Add room
Booking code

The booking code is added.

Please note

Your session will be ended

Please note that changing language will end this session. You will be logged out and all ongoing tasks will be lost.